Science & Conservation

The National Tropical Botanical Garden offers two prestigious awards to recognize exceptional individuals in the fields of botany, horticulture, or plant exploration.  The David Fairchild Medal for Plant Exploration is awarded annually, and the Robert Allerton Award for Excellence in Tropical Botany or Horticulture is awarded on alternate years.  Descriptions of these awards and lists of past awardees can be found in the attached documents.


[Fairchild Medal Recipients 1999-present]

[Allerton Award Recipients 1975-present]

Our Areas of Focus

Join as an NTBG Member Today!

Support NTBG by joining, renewing or giving the gift of membership today!
Membership options and renewal

Add impact to your inbox

Join our mailing list for timely plant saving news and information