You are here

CBS SUNDAY MORNING VISITS BREADFRUIT INSTITUTE

MUST-SEE TV! This Sunday, November 24, watch CBS Sunday Morning correspondent Conor Knighton as he is immersed in breadfruit culture during a recent visit to the National Tropical Botanical Garden. In this annual holiday episode devoted to food, Conor visits NTBG's Kahanu Garden in Hana, Maui to see and experience the world's largest collection of breadfruit with 150 varieties.

While in Hana Conor experiences Kahanu Garden's Ulu (Breadfruit) Cookoff in which contestants enter an array of creative and delicious breadfruit dishes to be judged by a panel of distinguished chefs and breadfruit entrepreneurs. Conor also visits the McBryde Garden on Kauai where he interviews Dr. Diane Ragone, Director of NTBG's Breadfruit Institute, about breadfruit and the work of the institute. Joining Dr. Ragone in McBryde Garden's Regenerative Organic Breadfruit Agroforest, Conor enjoys a hands‐on lesson about different breadfruit varieties.

The four and a half‐minute segment aired Sunday, Nov. 24 at 10am (Eastern)/ 7am (Pacific)/ 5am (Hawaii). 

Join as an NTBG Member Today!

Support NTBG by joining, renewing or giving the gift of membership today!

Become a member

Membership options and renewal